Sign In   |   Careers   |   Contact Us
logo
Featured Programs

IATEC (Indigenous Access & Transition Education Certificate)

Take the next step towards a university degree!  Enroll in the Indigenous Access and Transition Education Certificate (IATEC) program offered in Nipawin starting October 2017.  This 8-month ...

Pathways to Employment in Early Childhood Education

Are you seeking employment in Early Childhood Education?  We have just the right program for you! In this 6 month program, you will receive employment and academic readiness training, as well ...

Early Childhood Education Orientation

This introductory course provides the minimum training required by Saskatchewan Ministry of Education in order to work as a child daycare worker. The curriculum emphasizes on the content and best prac...

Early Childhood Education - Level II

Young children making the transition from home to child care or preschool need an enthusiastic, positive role model. They need someone dedicated to encouraging learning and growth. They need … ...

Early Childhood Education - Level II


Program Start: 14 October 2017
Application Deadline: 6 October 2017
Location: Tisdale
Credit Granting Institution: Sask Polytech

Overview:

Young children making the transition from home to child care or preschool need an enthusiastic, positive role model. They need someone dedicated to encouraging learning and growth. They need … you.

Saskatchewan Polytechnic's Early Childhood Education (ECE) Certificate program gives you the knowledge and skills you need to work in a variety of childcare settings.

This first phase of the program includes 5 courses.  PRAC 104 will have to be done independently through Sask Polytech by practicum or PLAR appointment.  Phase 2 will include the other 5 theory courses during the 2018-19 academic year.

Phase I courses include: COMM 291, HUMD 100, ECE 100, ECE 181 and ECE 101

These five courses will be offered through nineteen 6 hour Saturday workshops (9-3:30 – ½ hour for lunch) and sixteen Thursday evenings (6:30-9:30) from October 14 to March 17.  Each course will be offered through facilitated study with face to face instructional hours and home study hours.  The model uses face to face time to clarify assignments, discuss important concepts, write tests, and share examples.
 

Course workshop dates (approx. 80% face-to-face)

COMM 291 Interpersonal Communications – Saturday Oct. 14, Thursday Oct. 19, Saturday Oct. 21, Thursday Oct. 26 and Saturday Oct. 28 = 2 Thursdays and 3 Saturdays. (24 hours workshop out of 30)

HUMD 100 Child and Adolescent Development –  Saturday Nov. 4, Thursday Nov. 9, Thursday Nov. 16, Saturday Nov. 18, Thursday Nov. 23, Saturday Nov. 25, Thursday Nov. 30 and Saturday Dec. 2 = 4 Thursdays and 4 Saturdays (36 hours workshop out of 45)

ECE 100 Introduction to Early Childhood Education – Saturday Dec. 9, Thursday Dec. 14, Saturday Dec. 16, Thursday Dec. 21, Thursday Jan.4, Saturday Jan. 6, Thursday Jan. 11 and Saturday Jan. 13 = 4 Thursdays and 4 Saturdays (36 hours workshop out of 45)

ECE 181 Observation of Children – Saturday Jan. 20, Thursday Jan. 25, Saturday Jan. 27, Thursday Feb. 1, Saturday Feb. 3, Thursday Feb. 8 and Saturday Feb 10. = 3 Thursdays and 4 Saturdays (33 hours workshop out of 40)

ECE 101 Roles and Values of the Early Childhood Educator – Saturday Feb. 17, Thursday Mar. 1, Saturday Mar. 3, Thursday Mar. 8, Saturday Mar. 10, Thursday Mar. 15, Saturday Mar. 17 = 3 Thursdays and 4 Saturdays (33 hours workshop out of 40)

Total = 19 Saturdays and 16 Thursday evenings.

All tests will be written during workshop time. Assignments will be handed in within two weeks of the last workshop.

Requirements:

  • To qualify you must have Grade 12 with English A and B 30 or pass an Accuplacer test with the required score.
  • You need to apply to the ECE Level 2 part-time program by completing an online application form, plus your high school and any post-secondary transcripts, sent to:

Rebecca Cross, Registrar
Cumberland College
Box 2320
Melfort, SK S0E 1A0
Fax: 306-752-3484
Contact by Email

  • Applications to the program will be taken immediately.  Apply as soon as possible. We will be accepting 12 students into the program.  Only payment, a payment agreement, or sponsorship secures your seat in this course.
  • You may come into this program even if you already have some of the courses listed below.
  • We are accepting those with the three Level 1 courses first.
  • You must be committed to attending classes on the listed Thursdays and Saturdays. We are aware of unforeseen circumstances or illness which could prevent you from attending which is taken into consideration.
  • The number of class hours are based on the credit hours and credit units.
  • Call Veryl Coghill at 306-765-1560 or contact by email if you are not sure you qualify.
Tuition: $1,070*
Books & Supplies: $700*
Student Fees: $75
*Note: Tuition, Books and Supplies, Health and Dental amounts are approximate, based on last year's program and may change at anytime.